About One East Kentucky: Learn About Our Organization

One East Kentucky Logo

Our Mission

The exclusive mission of ONE EAST KENTUCKY is to Recruit Industry and Investment –JOBS–to Eastern Kentucky through the implementation of annual Economic Development Strategies. ONE EAST KENTUCKY is a 9-County Regional Organization and partnership of Private Businesses, Communities and Chambers of Commerce.

One East Kentucky Supports Regional Economic Growth

One East Kentucky is a 501(c)3 non-profit, privately funded regional economic development organization.  The nine-county area includes the counties of Floyd, Knott, Johnson, Lawrence, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Perry and Pike.  We are governed by a 13-member board of directors elected by investors of the organization.  Learn more about our board and investors.

One East Kentucky champions the economy, markets the region for attraction of new companies, and advocates for economic development on a collective, regional level. The organization began as a partnership of five chambers of commerce – Hazard/Perry County Chamber of Commerce, Floyd County Chamber of Commerce, Letcher County Chamber of Commerce, Paintsville/Johnson County Chamber of Commerce and Southeast Kentucky Chamber of Commerce.  Eventually, this led to the creation of a private organization funded by the private businesses and partners in these nine counties.

These partners recognized the opportunity to better serve prospective businesses through regional service programs and marketing. Through One East Kentucky, we are proud to coordinate efforts for a greater impact on the economic growth of our region.  One East Kentucky works closely with the Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development, Shaping Our Appalachian Region (SOAR)Southeast Kentucky Economic DevelopmentAEP Kentucky Power and many other organizations to secure new projects for our communities.  SOAR's Industrial Development strategy is answered through the implementation of programs at One East Kentucky for our nine counties.